Thesis Office

Handbook


A Handbook for Theses and Dissertations contains information on The Graduate School’s policies and procedures for preparing a thesis or dissertation, having it reviewed by the Thesis Editor, and uploading it as a PDF for electronic publication, which is the final requirement for graduation. The Handbook includes an explanation of the University of Utah format, examples of pages and forms, and a discussion of copyright issues.

 

Style Guides


A comprehensive list of department-approved style guides can be found here.

FAQ


The Graduate School maintains a list of frequently asked questions. This list is also available on the ProQuest website.

 

Calendar


Submission of a manuscript during a semester does not guarantee graduation in that semester. Factors that can result in not graduating include the following:

  • Unavailability of the student to participate in the ongoing editing process
  • Major formatting errors (see the Handbook)
  • Major problems with grammar, spelling, etc.
  • Manuscripts that have not been approved by the supervisory committee and department chair

Manuscripts submitted on the deadline but that have any of these problems will not be considered for that semester.

Please take these factors into account when planning defense and graduation dates.

The entire editing process can take 2 or more months to complete, so the earlier a manuscript is submitted, the better the student’s chance of graduating in the desired semester. 

However, students wishing to be considered for graduation in a specific semester must meet the dates in this calendar.

Any manuscript that is submitted for format approval after 10/27/2017 will not be evaluated until after the Thesis Office has finished processing all those graduating in Fall who met the Fall deadline. We will begin reading for Spring graduation in January 2018. We will begin accepting submissions for preliminary reviews again after December 4, 2017.

Semester Last day preliminary formatting submissions accepted Last day department-approved submissions over 200 pages will be accepted Last day department-approved submissions will be accepted to begin the format approval process Last day approved manuscripts will be accepted to begin the thesis release process
Spring 2017 March 10, Friday March 17, Friday  April 24, Monday
Summer 2017  June 9, Friday  June 16, Friday July 25, Tuesday
Fall 2017 October 6, Friday October 20, Friday  October 27, Friday December 4, Monday
Spring 2018 February 16, Friday March 9, Friday March 16, Friday April 23, Monday