Skip to content

NSF-GRFP Announcement of Awardees

Eleven University of Utah graduate students were awarded the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP) for 2021, the second-largest U cohort to date. The prestigious fellowship supports outstanding doctoral and research-based master’s students doing research in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

Established in 1952, the NSF GRFP is the oldest fellowship program of its kind. The 2021 fellows receive a three-year annual stipend of $34,000, a $12,000 cost of allowance for tuition and fees, and numerous research and professional development opportunities.


Congratulations to the 2021 NSF GRFP fellows

Carena Cornelssen, biomedical engineering

Andrew Pendergast, chemical measurement and imaging

Isabella Archibald, chemical engineering

Brian Cottle, biomedical engineering

Lydia Fries, chemical catalysis

Kaitlin Hall, electrical/electronic engineering

Jerry Howard, materials research

Chantel Lapins, mechanical engineering

Isaac Martin, mathematical sciences

Titus Shiao Wen Quah, chemical engineering

Trevor Schwehr, mechanical engineering


For more information, checkout the full @theu article.

Share this article:


Last Updated: 8/17/21